CMC3 Logo

California Mathematics Council Community Colleges

CMC3 Board

Mission Statement

The California Mathematics Council Community Colleges (CMC3) was founded in 1972 to provide a forum through which Community College mathematics faculty in Northern and Central California shall express themselves professionally at a local, state and national level and to support mathematical activity by students and faculty.

CMC3 Board Meetings

The CMC3 board meets three times a year, once in winter, once on the Sunday after the Tahoe conference and once in September. Our meetings are open to all members. Please contact any board member for information about our meetings. Feel free to peruse CMC3’s by-laws and constitution. The next board meeting is Saturday, February 2, 2019 at Woodland Community College any member is welcome to attend.

PresidentKatia FuchsCity College of San Francisco
Past-PresidentJoe ConradSolano Community College
President-ElectJennifer Carlin-GoldbergSanta Rosa Junior College
SecretaryTracey JacksonSanta Rosa Junior College
TreasurerLeslie BantaMendocino College
Conference AV SpecialistSteve BlasbergWest Valley College
Articulation Breakfast RepSteve BlasbergWest Valley College
Campus Reps. Coordinator TBA
Membership ChairKevin BrewerSolano Community College
Business LiaisonDean GoochSanta Rosa Junior College
Adjunct AdvocateChantal CimmiyottiMendocino College
Student Poster Session ChairJames SullivanSierra College
MAA Liaison Wade EllisWest Valley College
CMC LiaisonJames SullivanSierra College
Newsletter EditorJay LehmannCollege of San Mateo
Awards CoordinatorTBATBA
Website CoordinatorDarryl AllenSolano Community College
AMATYC LiaisonMark HarbisonSacramento City College (Retired)
Foundation PresidentJames SullivanSierra College
Fall Conference ChairJennifer Carlin-GoldbergSanta Rosa Junior College
Spring Conference Chair Larry GreenLake Tahoe Community College
Monterey Speaker ChairWade EllisWest Valley College
Tahoe Speaker ChairMark HarbisonSacramento City College (Retired)

CMC3 Endorsement Policy

As part of the mission of CMC3, the organization will consider endorsement of any initiative proposed by a CMC3 member that has the intent of making a profound positive change(s) in the teaching and learning of mathematics at the California community colleges. Specific requirements for a formal endorsement include:

  • The initiative must specifically focus on the teaching and learning of mathematics at California community colleges.
  • Involve more than one district within the California Community College system.
  • Be expandable to any mathematics department at a California Community College.
  • Have value that is worthy of a presentation at either the CMC3 spring or fall conference.
  • The initiator must be a member of CMC3 or CMC3 South.

The endorsement committee will consist of the president-elect, the president, and the past-president of CMC3. A unanimous vote of all three members must be made to endorse or decline to endorse a proposed initiative. If one of the three members is recused due to a conflict of interest, then the treasurer will participate in that person’s place. If there is no consensus by the committee on endorsement, then the vote will go to the board as a whole. The president of CMC3 will chair the committee, will write and sign the endorsement letter, and will communicate with the initiator. If the president needs to be recused due to a conflict of interest, then the past-president will chair the committee.

CMC3 Past Presidents

2018-2019Katia FuchsCity College of San Francisco
2016-2017Joe ConradSolano College
2014-2015Mark HarbisonSacramento City College
2012-2013Susanna GuntherSolano College
2010-2011Barbara IllowskyDe Anza College
2008-2009Larry GreenLake Tahoe College
2006-2007Rob KnightEvergreen Valley College
2004-2005Rick HoughSkyline College
2002-2003Randy TaylorLas Positas College
2000-2001Lois YamakoshiLos Medanos College
1998-1999Michael EurgubianSanta Rosa Junior College
1996-1997Chris BurdittNapa Valley College
1994-1995Debra LandreSan Joaquin Delta College
1992-1993Barry WoodSanta Rosa Junior College
1990-1991Denny BurzynskiWest Valley College
1988-1989Wade Ellis, Jr.West Valley College
1986-1987Shirley TrembleyBakersfield College
1984-1985Pat BoyleSanta Rosa Junior College
1982-1983Art DullDiablo Valley College
1980-1981Hal AndersonSanta Rosa Junior College
1978-1979Brandon WheelerSacramento City College
1974-1977Raymond WucoSan Joaquin Delta College
1973-1974James CurlModesto Junior College

CMC3 Distinguished Service Awards

This annual award is given to a past board member who has dedicated years of service in the CMC3 organization.

2017Susanna GuntherSolano Community College
2016Debbie Van SickleSacramento City College
2015Noelle EckleyLassen College
2014Barbara IllowskyDe Anza College
2013Rob KnightEvergreen Valley College
2012Cynthia SpeedMendocino College
2011Randy TaylorLas Positas College
2010Jim SpencerSanta Rosa Junior College
2009Rick HoughSkyline College
2008Chris BarkerDe Anza College
2007Dave JohnsonDiablo Valley College
2006Debra LandreSan Joaquin Delta College
2005Lois YamakoshiLos Medanos College
2004Michael EurgubianSanta Rosa Junior College
2003Marlyn McBrideSkyline College
2002Wei Jen HarrisonAmerican River College
2001Chris BurdittNapa Valley College
2000Denny BurzynskiWest Valley College
1999Barry WoodSanta Rosa Junior College
1998Allen UtterbackCabrillo College
1997Guy De PrimoCity College of San Francisco
1996James CurlModesto Junior College
1995Hal AndersenSanta Rosa Junior College
1995Sister Clarice SparkmanSan Jose City College
1994Patrick BoyleSanta Rosa Junior College
1994Arthur DullDiablo Valley College
1993Frank DenneyChabot College
1993Wade Ellis Jr.West Valley College
1993Brandon WheelerSacramento City College
1992Ray WucoSan Joaquin Delta College

CMC3 President’s Award

This annual award is given by the president to a current board member who has been particularly helpful over the past year.

2017Larry GreenLake Tahoe Community College
2016Leslie BantaMendocino College
2015Jay LehmannSan Mateo College
2014Rebecca FouquetteDe Anza College
2013Ken SeydelSkyline College
2011Larry GreenLake Tahoe Community College
2012Michael EurgubianSanta Rosa Junior College
2010Rob KnightEvergreen Valley College
2009Jim SpencerSanta Rosa Junior College
2008Mark HarbisonSacramento City College
2007Randy TaylorLas Positas College
2006Sandi NietoSanta Rosa Junior College
2005Barbara IllowskyDe Anza College
2005Zwi ReznikFresno City College
2004Noelle EckleyLassen College
2003Chris BarkerDe Anza College
2002Barry WoodSanta Rosa Junior College

CMC3 Teaching Excellence Awards